My current hair care routine

I’ll be honest, I’ve never been an expert when it comes to hair care.  I get lost whenever I go to buy shampoos and the thought of adding more products to my arsenal overwhelms me.  I am always so jealous of women that can go days without having to shampoo & condition their hair!  Like, HOW DO THEY DO IT?!  I can’t go more than 48 hours without washing my hair – I have a more oily scalp so at the end of the 2nd day my hair gets too shiny for my liking.

I recently got my hair seriously highlighted for the new year. The hair stylist basically told me she needed to do a color correction plus a balayage (my first one ever), and the results are AMAZING. I am in LOVE with my hair. I wanted to go ‘blonder’ in 2019, and with a new hair color comes the desire to totally re-vamp my hair care routine.

I’ve always been afraid of committing to a single hair product or brand, so typically when I go to the store, I never buy the same brand twice in a row.  My hair stylist was really pleased when I told her this, especially since I tend to go for drug store brand hair products (which she was NOT so pleased to hear, but she did note that my hair was very healthy – BIG THUMBS UP TO THAT).  In general it’s a good idea to switch it up between at least a couple different brands & formulas when you go to re-purchase hair products.

So when I made my weekly Target run after my hair appointment, I combed through the beauty aisles to find a new shampoo and conditioner to try. Little did I know that I would be leaving with TWO sets of products:

They are both from the L’Oreal Paris Ever Pure line.  The first is the Repair & Defend Shampoo and Conditioner, and the second is the Blonde Shampoo and Conditioner.

I wanted to make sure I was buying a product that had a strong formula at an affordable price.  All four of these came out to under $30!!  They are also vegan, sulfate free, dye free,  AND I might add that they smell amazing.

The idea here is that I have the Repair & Defend set to use on a more regular basis when I shower throughout the week, and the Blonde formula is to be used only once a week to keep my color from fading or looking brassy, a common problem for us blondes.

I’ve only been using these products for about a week now and I’m really excited to see if I notice a difference!  My main priority is to make sure my hair color stays as bright and fresh as it was the moment I stepped out of the hair salon!

Beyond washing, my hair care is pretty minimal: I let my hair towel dry about half way, then I use a blow dryer to take care of the rest. I have REALLY thick hair so it’s always such an ordeal to style my hair that I almost never do (sad face).

HELP A SISTER OUT: What other products would you recommend I look into and incorporate into my hair routine? Also, does anyone have any good dry shampoo recommendations?  Leave your favorite products in the comments below!!

xo Carly

Leave a comment